Media Release - Shire of Narrogin Australia Day Celebrations 2024

Published on Friday, 26 January 2024 at 10:30:00 AM


 Shire of Narrogin Australia Day Celebrations 2024


The Shire of Narrogin celebrated Australia Day in grand style with its annual Community Breakfast on Friday, 26 January 2024, at the picturesque Mackie Park. The event, a staple in the community, set the tone for the day with an authentic Aussie atmosphere.

Leading the proceedings, MC Cr Roxanne McNab warmly welcomed guests, while the local Campfire Country Band captivated the audience with a repertoire of true-blue ballads and iconic Australian tunes. The highlight of the morning included fourteen (14) Narrogin community members solemnly taking the Pledge of Commitment to Australia.

The ceremony reached its pinnacle as four exceptional individuals from Narrogin were bestowed with the prestigious Citizen of the Year Awards. Shire President Leigh Ballard, alongside the Hon Steve Martin MLC, had the honour of presenting the awards to the deserving winners in each category.

The recipients of the 2024 Citizen of the Year Awards are as follows:

Community Citizen of the Year (Youth) – Abby Dewing

In recognition of her outstanding contributions, particularly in Netball, as well as her commendable role as a Student Councillor. Abby's involvement in community initiatives, such as the Narrogin Shire’s Youth Voice Community Builder’s summit, reflects her commitment to the betterment of the community.

Community Citizen of the Year (Senior) – Alastair McDougall

Acknowledging his remarkable role as a fire officer during the devastating fires in 2022 and his commendable service with the Bush Fire Brigades. Alastair's collaboration with BlazeAid showcased a profound commitment to community recovery, actively participating in fencing and tree planting initiatives. His inspiring attitude and leadership have earned him widespread admiration.

Active Citizenship (Group or Event) – Arts Narrogin

Recognizing its significant contributions to the cultural life of the community. Arts Narrogin consistently curates an extensive array of arts and cultural events, enriching both Narrogin and the surrounding region. Over the past twelve months alone, they have continued this tradition with live musical and theatrical productions, Flickerfest short movies, community and youth workshops, art exhibitions, and collaborations such as the Hay Bales concert with the Perth Symphony Orchestra.

Community Citizen of the Year – Grant Hansen (Posthumous)

Honouring Grant Hansen posthumously for his profound dedication to the local community. Grant's unwavering commitment to St John Ambulance, Volunteer Fire & Rescue Service, and the Bush Fire Brigade for over two decades left an indelible mark on Narrogin.

 Expressing gratitude for the success of the event, President Leigh Ballard extended sincere appreciation to volunteers, attendees, and the entire Shire of Narrogin community. He remarked, "Congratulations to all nominees and award winners; your outstanding efforts and achievements truly embody the spirit of our thriving community. Your commitment is the cornerstone of our shared success, and I am proud to celebrate these accomplishments together with our vibrant community."


– Ends –

 Further information on this media release may be obtained by contacting Dale Stewart,  or telephone 08 9890 0900.

Back to All News