Media Release - Shire of Narrogin Australia Day Celebrations 2023

Published on Monday, 30 January 2023 at 8:46:10 AM


 Shire of Narrogin Australia Day Celebrations 2023

The Shire of Narrogin held its ever popular Australia Day Community Breakfast on Thursday 26 January 2023 at Alby Park.

Cr Jacqui Early made a bright and cheerful MC, ensuring the morning’s program ran smoothly and successfully. Local musicians Russell Gooley and Matt Hough entertained the crowd late into the morning and the free pool entry guaranteed hours of fun into the day for families.

Four Narrogin community members took the Pledge of Commitment to Australia. Two Certificates of Appreciation were awarded for outstanding community effort. One to BlazeAid for its invaluable effort in assisting local farmers to recover from the Narrogin East fires, and a second, jointly to Coral Mahony and Trish Moulton for their outstanding street numbers project which now assists Emergency Services with finding properties in Narrogin.

Four deserving members of Narrogin’s community received Citizen of the Year Awards. Shire President Leigh Ballard and the Hon Steve Martin MLC awarded the winners in each category for the Community Citizen of the Year Awards. The winners were:

  1. Community Citizen of the Year (Youth)-Dakoda Bolton-Black - an inspiring young Aboriginal woman active in the community in the reconciliation and cultural awareness space with leadership roles as a Narrogin Senior High School prefect and a member of the Youth Advisory Council.
  2. Community Citizen of the Year (Senior)- Coral Mahony - in recognition of her role in the street numbers project, which saw reflective street numbers installed outside of each house in Narrogin to assist Emergency services find properties. Coral is also a tireless volunteer with local community groups, a CATS car driver and a dedicated volunteer at the Shire’s visitor centre.
  3. Active Citizenship (Group or Event) -The Narrogin Bush Fire Brigades, led by Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Pip Porter and his Deputies Stuart Moyses and Vern Gibson. The group helped manage and control the Narrogin East fires in February 2022 along with 176 volunteers. The fires lasted for five days with the volunteers monitoring them around the clock, challenged by strong wind conditions and extreme temperatures.
  4. Community Citizen of the Year - Pip Porter for his outstanding role during the Narrogin East bushfires in February 2022. Pip demonstrated an extraordinary ability to oversee and manage the volunteer firefighters during this extremely stressful time. Pip is also very active in the Highbury community, with the tennis club, Highbury District Community Council and the annual ANZAC service, both in Highbury and Narrogin.

President Leigh Ballard on behalf of the Shire of Narrogin, the Australia Day and Honours Advisory Committee, the Elected Members and the Narrogin community, stated “Thank you to all the people who took the time to nominate the deserving individuals for recognition at the day’s celebrations”, adding. “Without the selfless dedication of our community’s volunteers, there would be no nominations, and no Australia Day Awards presentation.”

 – Ends –

 Further information on this media release may be obtained by contacting Dale Stewart, or telephone 08 9890 0900.


Shire of Narrogin

PO Box 1145

Narrogin WA 6312


Back to All News