Shire President Has New Four-Year Term

Published on Tuesday, 14 September 2021 at 10:27:12 AM

Existing Shire President Mr Leigh Ballard has been re-elected unopposed to the position of Shire President for the Shire of Narrogin, for another four-year term.

The Shire of Narrogin is one of only two non-metropolitan ‘Shire’ local governments remaining in Western Australia that still have their President popularly elected by electors, as opposed to by Councillors around the table. This decision was made by the electors in 2016, when the question was posed by a poll at the extraordinary elections when the two former municipal entities merged.

At 4.00pm on Thursday 9 September, nominations closed for candidates wishing to be elected in their local government. Narrogin has received a healthy eight nominations. Running for election this year for a position at the Council table as an Elected Member are Roxanne McNab, Michelle Parker, Raylene Storey, Tamara Alexander, Tim Wiese, Brian Seale, Josh Pomykala and Clive Bartron. The successful candidates will fill the five vacant councillor seats.

Postal election packages will be sent to all electors registered in the Shire of Narrogin, as well as those electors on the Residents and Ratepayers Roll.  Electors should start receiving their packages around 20 September. Voting must be completed and returned in the post or in person to the Shire Administration Office before 6.00 pm on polling day, being Saturday 16 October.

Shire CEO Dale Stewart in congratulating Leigh Ballard on being elected for another term added “It is very encouraging to have a diverse and enthusiastic response for candidates wishing to be involved in the say of their community. I strongly encourage all electors in the Shire of Narrogin to have their say in the local government elections by voting for their preferred candidates.”

Candidates’ profiles are posted to the Shire of Narrogin website in the public notices section.

 – Ends –

 Further information on this media release may be obtained by contacting Dale Stewart, or telephone 08 9890 0900.


Back to All News