Results of Narrogin Election

Published on Tuesday, 19 October 2021 at 9:10:16 AM

The results of the 2021 Local Government Postal Election, with an encouraging 43.6% voter turnout, were revealed on Saturday evening as follows: 

  • WIESE, Tim  \\ 1091 votes  \\  ELECTED 4 Yr Term
  • BARTRON, Clive \\ 692 votes
  • ALEXANDER, Tamara   \\  760 votes  \\  ELECTED 2 Yr Term
  • PARKER, Michelle   \\  298 votes
  • STOREY, Raylene   \\  506 votes
  • SEALE, Brian  \\  783 votes  \\   ELECTED 4 Yr Term
  • McNAB, Roxanne 895 votes  \\   ELECTED 4 Yr Term
  • POMYKALA, Josh 904 votes  \\   ELECTED 4 Yr Term

At the October Council meeting, the three new Councillors Elect, Tamara Alexander, Roxanne McNab and Josh Pomykala, will attend their first meeting in their official capacity, as well as Cr Tim Wiese and Cr Brian Seale, who were both re-elected for further four-year terms.

Shire President, Leigh Ballard, who was present at the WAEC’s vote count, congratulated all the candidates and thanked them for nominating and showing such interest in the Shire’s business and local government process.

Former Councillor Clive Bartron was not re-elected, and he was acknowledged by President Ballard for his five years for the Shire and also for his service as a councillor for the former Town of Narrogin since 2013.

The Shire President also extended his thanks to the two retiring Councillors, for their commitment, service and dedication to the Shire. Most notably, Cr Geoff Ballard has served for an admirable 16 years on Council—for the former Shire of Narrogin from 2005-2016, and the current Shire to 2021. Cr Sophie Lushey resigned mid-term, owing to relocation for professional reasons, and was thanked for her commitment and contribution during her two years.

In closing, President Ballard also acknowledged the unsuccessful first-time candidates and encouraged them to nominate for roles on Council Committees and to consider renominating in two years’ time.  

– Ends –

Further information on this media release may be obtained by contacting Dale Stewart ,Chief Executive Officer, or telephone 08 9890 0900.

Back to All News