Narrogin - Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards State Winner

Published on Wednesday, 2 December 2020 at 3:20:27 PM

At an awards ceremony in Perth last week, Narrogin has been named the overall State winner of the Keep Australia Beautiful Council’s Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities 2020 Awards.

Shire President Leigh Ballard said “It was a very proud moment hearing that we had been announced the overall Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards State Winner. Our Shire and community groups work hard all the time to make the town clean and a pleasant place to live and visit.”

Narrogin was praised by judges for the huge amount of work that has gone into improving the appearance and accessibility of the town for all community members.

The Shire has worked with community groups and residents to support initiatives such as the Sensory Garden near the Library and the Gnarojin Community Garden that allow community members, particularly those living with dementia, to engage in food production activities and enjoy a café experience. Colourful new bin surrounds throughout the town have resulted in less litter on the ground and community action has also assisted in litter pick-ups.

The development of footpaths, refurbishment of the BMX site, and improvements to Memorial Park ensure Narrogin remains a beautiful place to live and visit.

Leigh Ballard added “Visitors often say to me that they are pleasantly surprised and there is actually a bit of wow-factor when they drive into Narrogin, to find a neat and pleasant metropolis nestled in the valley”.

Whilst overall town presentation and appearance is a factor, the Shire’s general initiatives praised included:

  • Town Heritage Walk - Stories of us;
  • Memorial park BBQ and toilets;
  • Accessibility upgrades around town and the CBD including accessibility toilets and seating;
  • Saving and relocating heritage palms to the Recreation Centre;
  • Developing an attractive CBD park and sensory garden abutting the Library;
  • Assisting support a Forget Me Not Café for members of the community living with dementia;
  • The planting of trees around town streets;
  • Installing mature street trees in the CBD;
  • The community each year adopting a ‘’clean up’’ spot;
  • Road surfacing improvements and overall improvements to streetscapes such as in Egerton Street;
  • Installing attractive bin surrounds and funky bike stands; and
  • Supporting the BMX Track recently refurbished by the community.


– Ends –


Further information on this media release may be obtained by contacting Dale Stewart,  or telephone 08 9890 0900.

Further information KABC website here Tidy Towns Winners | Keep Australia Beautiful WA ( .

Approved by:
Dale Stewart
Chief Executive Officer
Shire of Narrogin
PO Box 1145
Narrogin WA 6312




Pictured:  Chief Executive Officer Dale Stewart, Shire President Leigh Ballard, Executive Manager Technical & Rural Services Torre Evans and Keep Australia Beautiful WA Chair, Michael Aspinall at the awards ceremony in late November. (Photo Credit - Lee Mullen/Gan Eden Media)

CEO and Shire President being presented with the AWARD

Back to All News