Shire of Narrogin

MINUTES OF THE ORDINARY MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, 43 FEDERAL STREET, NARROGIN, ON THURSDAY, 17th MAY 2012; COMMENCING AT 9.30 A.M.

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The President, Richard Chadwick, welcomed all Councillors to the meeting.

2. ATTENDANCE, APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE GRANTED

Councillors Cr R.E. Chadwick (President)

Cr G.D. Ballard Cr B.G. Hardie Cr D.L. Wiese Cr A.G. Borthwick

Cr T.R. Wiese (from 9.43 am) Cr J.M. Sieber (from 9.43 am)

Chief Executive Officer Mr G.R. McKeown

Visitors Mr G. Rasmussen – Works Manager (from 10.25am)

Apologies Nil.

3. PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil

4. APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

5. PETITIONS/DEPUTATIONS/PRESENTATIONS/SUBMISSIONS

Nil

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Moved Cr Borthwick Seconded Cr Hardie The Minutes of the Ordinary Meeting of Council held on the 18th April 2012, be confirmed as a true and correct record.

CARRIED 5/0

CONFIRMED .	21 st June 2012	CHADWICK
		PRESIDENT

Ordinary Council Meeting 17^h May 2012

<u>CR TIM WIESE AND CR JANICE SIEBER ATTENDED THE MEETING AT</u> 9.43AM

BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES

AMALGAMATION

The President raised an issue that was discussed at the last Regional Transition Group (RTG) Board Meeting relating to the method of voting for the Council of seven elected members following an amalgamation. The position on the number of elected members that was supported by the Shires of Narrogin and Cuballing and the Town of Narrogin was:

"The number of Councillors in the new local government for the first four years should be seven with two from the Shire of Cuballing and the Shire of Narrogin and three from the Town of Narrogin with the President/Mayor being elected from within the Council;"

The discussion at the RTG Board Meeting highlighted the need to clarify how the elected members would be voted into office. One view was that the election should be based on a ward system, whereby electors from the three old districts vote only for their two elected members, in the case of the Shires of Cuballing and Narrogin, and their three members in the case of the Town of Narrogin. The other view was that all electors should vote for all the elected members from each of the old districts.

The two options were being put to the Department of Local Government to clarify if they can both comply with the provisions of the *Local Government Act 1995*.

The President asked for clarification from Council on its preferred option so that the Shire of Narrogin's delegates on the RTG Board can advocate that position.

Moved Cr Chadwick

Seconded Cr Borthwick

The Shire of Narrogin's position on the method of electing the Council for the first four years of a newly amalgamated local government is that the electors from each of the old local government districts will elect their representatives using a ward system methodology.

CARRIED 7/0

MR GARY RASMUSSEN ATTENDED THE MEETING AT 10.25AM.

8. REPORTS OF OFFICERS

Gary Rasmussen presented a report on the activities of the Narrogin Works Unit.

MR GARY RASMUSSEN LEFT THE MEETING AT 11.25AM.

CONFIRMED	21 st June 2012	R.E. CHADWICK
		PRESIDENT

Ordinary Council Meeting 17^h May 2012

7. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PRESIDENT AND COUNCILLORS

Councillors advised of their attendance at the following meetings and functions:

- 1. Cr Sieber attended the Noman's Lake Hall Committee Meeting and the Shire Road Inspection.
- 2. Cr Hardie and Cr Borthwick reported that they attended the Shire Road Inspection.
- 3. Cr D Wiese attended the ANZAC Services in Highbury and Narrogin.
- 4. Cr T Wiese attended the Shire Road Inspection.
- 5. Cr Ballard attended the Shire Road Inspection and the Narrogin Leisure Centre Advisory Committee Meeting.

The President reported on his attendance at the following meetings and functions:

- 1. Attended the RTG Board Meeting.
- 2. Attended the WALGA Central Country Zone Teleconference to discuss the Metropolitan Local Government Review.

8. **REPORTS OF OFFICERS (continued)**

Information Report

The Chief Executive Officer presented his Information Report.

MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DECISIONS

<u>9.F</u> **FINANCE**

9.F.201 FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Moved Cr Hardie That Council,

Seconded Cr Sieber

- 1. Endorse cheques numbered 822, 19156 to 19170 (inclusive) as paid under delegated authority, totalling \$125,468.70;
- Approve cheques numbered 19171 to 19216 (inclusive) as creditors to 2. be paid, totalling \$332,444.62;
- Endorse electronic transaction payments for other expenses totalling 3. \$4,497.59;
- Endorse electronic transaction payments for salaries and wages 4. expenses totalling \$60,570.37; and
- 5. Adopt the Financial Statement to the 30th April, 2012 as presented.

CARRIED 7/0

CONFIRMED	21 ^s	^t June 2012	 CHADWICK
			DDECIDENT

Ordinary Council Meeting 17^h May 2012

9. F.202 WRITE OFF OF OUTSTANDING RATES

Moved Cr Ballard

Seconded Cr Hardie

The local government interim rates raised for the mining tenement held by Hedland Metals Pty Ltd for the year ending 30th June 2012, totalling \$153.33, be written off due to the Company surrendering the mining tenement.

CARRIED 7/0

9.A ADMINISTRATION

Cr D Wiese declared a Financial Interest in the item relating to the sale of the Nissan UD Tandem Drive Truck on the basis that he had submitted a tender for its purchase.

CR DARRELL WIESE LEFT THE MEETING AT 12.12 PM.

9.A.227 TENDER – SALE OF NISSAN UD TANDEM DRIVE TRUCK

Moved Cr Hardie

Seconded Cr T Wiese

The tender received from A & PD Moore for the purchase of the Shire's 1994 Nissan UD Tandem Drive Truck, offering the amount of \$36,000 including GST, be accepted.

CARRIED 6/0

CR DARRELL WIESE ATTENDED THE MEETING AT 12.13 PM.

PERFORMANCE REVIEW - CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER LEFT THE MEETING AT 12.21PM

The Council proceeded to conduct the annual performance review of the Chief Executive Officer.

THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER ATTENDED THE MEETING AT 12.36PM

Details of the matters addressed in the performance review were discussed with the Chief Executive Officer.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS, THE PRESIDENT THANKED COUNCILLORS FOR THEIR ATTENDANCE AND CLOSED THE MEETING AT 12.43 PM.

CONFIRMED	21 ^s	st June 2012	 R.E.	CHADWICK
				PRESIDENT