

Minutes

LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (LEMC) 19 April 2022

The Chief Executive Officer recommends the endorsement of these minutes at the next Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting

Signed: Date 29 April 2022

These minutes were confirmed at the Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting held on 24 May 2022

Signed:

(Presiding Person at the meeting at which minutes were confirmed)

Acknowledgement of Noongar People

The Shire of Narrogin acknowledges the Noongar people as traditional custodians of this land and their continuing connection to land and community. We pay our respect to them, to their culture and to their Elders past and present.

Naatj ngiyan Birdiya Gnarojin kep unna nidja Noongar Moort ngaala maya nidja boodjera baarlap djoowak karlerl koolark. Ngalak niny ngullang karnan balang Bibolman baalap borong koora wer boorda.

Electronic copies of minutes and agendas are available for download from the Shire of Narrogin website www.narrogin.wa.gov.au

Alternative formats are also available upon request, including large print, electronic format (disk or emailed), audio or Braille

DISCLAIMER

Council and Committee agendas, recommendations, minutes and resolutions are subject to confirmation by the Council or Committee and therefore, prior to relying on them, one should refer to the subsequent meeting of Council or the Committee with respect to their accuracy.

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Narrogin for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council/Committee meetings or during formal/informal conversations with staff.

The Shire of Narrogin disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council/Committee meetings or discussions. Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without derogating in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a license, any statement or limitation or approval made by a member or officer of the Shire of Narrogin during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Narrogin. The Shire of Narrogin warns that anyone who has an application lodged with the Shire of Narrogin must obtain and should only rely on WRITTEN CONFIRMATION of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Narrogin in respect of the application.

Please note that meetings may be recorded for minute taking purposes.

CONTENTS

| Agenda Item | | Page |
|-------------|--|------|
| | | |
| 1. | OFFICIAL OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS | 5 |
| 2. | RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES | 5 |
| 3. | CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS | 5 |
| 4. | ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PERSON PRESIDING WITHOUT DISCUSSION | , 6 |
| 5. | MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DECISIONS | 6 |
| 6. | MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DISCUSSION | 6 |
| 6.1 | COVID-19 – Agency Reports (updates, issues or concerns) | 6 |
| 7. | GENERAL BUSINESS | 7 |
| 8. | DATE TIME & VENUE OF NEXT MEETING | 7 |
| 9. | CLOSURE OF MEETING | 7 |

LEMC MEETING 19 APRIL 2022

1. OFFICIAL OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

This meeting was held in person and as an electronic meeting using Teams.

The Presiding Person declared the meeting open at 4:34 pm

RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES 2.

Committee Members (Voting)

| Cr Brian Seale | Presiding Member, Councillor – Shire of Narrogin | |
|-----------------------|--|-------|
| Sgt Alby Van Den Berg | WA Police – Narrogin | |
| Leigh Ballard | Shire President | Teams |
| Anika Keeling | Narrogin SES | Teams |
| Aaron Kain | A/DFES – Narrogin Regional Office | Teams |
| Yvette Harrison | Department of Education | Teams |
| Joanna Spadagoini | Department of Communities | Toame |

Joanne Spadaccini Department of Communities Teams Tony Peplow Water Corporation **Teams** WACHS Wheatbelt Operations Manager Jenny Menasse **Teams**

Staff

Azhar Awang **Executive Manager Development & Regulatory Services**

Apologies

Dale Stewart Chief Executive Officer Wendy Russell **Executive Support Officer**

Robert Powell Manager Environmental Health Services

Douglas Cook Department of Education

3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

OFFICERS' RECOMMENDATION AND COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Aaron Kain Seconded: Leigh Ballard

That the minutes of the Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting held on 5 April 2022 be confirmed as an accurate record of the proceedings.

CARRIED

4. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PERSON PRESIDING WITHOUT DISCUSSION

Nil

5. MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DECISIONS

Nil

6. MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DISCUSSION

6.1 COVID-19 – Agency Reports (updates, issues or concerns)

<u>Jenny Menasse – WACHS-Wheatbelt – Operations Manager</u>

- 440 Active Covid in the Wheatbelt.
- 91 Aboriginal Community.
- 30 new cases today of which 7 Aboriginal background.
- Facebook information advising RAT procedures, Education awareness to Wheatbelt on Welfare and providing social support to the community.
- Vaccination Clinic at the Health Services side open till 5pm on Tuesday 19/4.
- Wednesday 20/4 clinic open from 8:30 to 2pm.
- Check-in register still required.

Leigh Ballard Shire President

Nothing to add at this time.

Aaron Kain - A/DFES - Narrogin Regional Officer

- 100% staff on board.
- A number of close contact but none infected.

Anika Keeling Narrogin SES

Nothing to add.

Joanne Spadaccini Department of Communities

 Assisted 16 people in Narrogin for food supplies, disinfectant since Mid-March. Most are in isolation at their own home.

Azhar Awang – Executive Manager Development & Regulatory Services (EMDRS)

• Contact and check-in registers to be remove at depot, museum, library, Shire Admin Office, homecare and other Shire facilities.

7. GENERAL BUSINESS

Nil

8. DATE TIME & VENUE OF NEXT MEETING

The next LEMC meeting will be Tuesday 24 May at 4:30 pm.

9. CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business to discuss, the Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 4:42pm.