

MINUTES FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS (FCO) MEETING

7 AUGUST 2018

Commencing at 4:00 pm

Council Chambers Shire of Narrogin 89 Earl Street Narrogin WA 6312

The Chief Executive Officer recommends the endorsement of these minutes at the next Fire Control Officers (FCO) Meeting Signed:				
These minutes were confirmed at the Fire Control Offic	cers (FCO) Meeting held on 1.7. April 2019			

CONTENTS

1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	3
2.	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES	
3.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS	
4.	BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES	4
	4.1 PPE	4
	4.2 Blue Book .	
5.	MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DISCUSSION	4
	5.1 Review of FCO's and Dual FCO appointments for the 2018/19 fire season5.2 Amalgamation of Bush Fire Brigades	
6.	GENERAL BUSINESS	6
	6.1 Fire Identification Stickers	6
7.	DATE TIME & VENUE OF NEXT MEETING	6
8.	CLOSURE OF MEETING	6

FIRE CONTROL OFFICERS (FCO) MEETING 7 AUGUST 2018

1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The Presiding Member, President Ballard, declared the meeting open at 4:00 pm.

2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Members Present

Mr Leigh Ballard – Shire President (Presiding Member) Cr Nathan Walker

CBFCO

Mr Richard Chadwick

DCBFCO

FCO's

Mr John Eckersley Mr Vern Gibson Mr Barry Hardie Mr Brenton Hardie Mr Daryl Kilpatrick Mr Stuart Moyses Mr Murray Saunders Mr Tim Shepherd Mr Bill Warren

Staff

Mr Dale Stewart – Chief Executive Officer Mr Azhar Awang – Executive Manager Development & Regulatory Services Mr Guy Maley – Senior Ranger

Other

Mr Simon Vogel – DFES

Apologies

Mr Alastair McDougall (DCBFCO) Ms Anika Keeling Mr Kieran Quartermaine Mr Bernie Rhodes Mr Jon Rick

3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

OFFICER'S RECOMMENDATION AND MEETING RESOLUTION

Moved: B Warren Seconded: G Maley

That the minutes of the FCO Meeting held on 14 March 2018 be endorsed as an accurate record of proceedings.

CARRIED 14/0

4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

4.1 PPE there is still some PPE that hasn't been collected.

Action: PPE that have not been collected are to be collected by the respective Captains of Each Brigades for distribution. Guy Maley to coordinate with Brigades Captains.

4.2 Blue Book, this is nearing completion and will be distributed prior to the 2018/19 fire season.

Action: Shire Staff to take responsibility on the ownership of the Blue Book which is a register of contact persons within the Former Shire of Narrogin. It is recommended that the Blue Book form the basis of a register of contact persons and the list be merged with the list of contacts in the SMS list and the registered fire volunteers. The FCO of each brigades is to check for details and accuracy. It must be noted that this register is not for publication or for any other use and that this Blue Book is not a register of volunteers and it is not coverage for insurance purposes. Deadline for publication of the Blue Book is 31 October 2018 ready for the 2018/19 fire season.

5. MATTERS WHICH REQUIRE DISCUSSION

5.1 Review of FCO's and Dual FCO appointments for the 2018/19 fire season

Attachment 1 - List of Fire Control Officers for the Shire of Narrogin 2018/19 season

OFFICERS' RECOMMENDATION AND MEETING RESOLUTION

Moved: B Hardie Seconded: S Moyses

There be a recommendation to Council to reappoint the CBFCO, DCBFCO and FCO's as per Attachment 1 as well as the following Dual Fire Control Officers, with all previous FCO appointments being rescinded.

Shire of Cuballing	Richard Chadwick Barry Hardie
Shire of Wagin	Stuart Moyses Nathan Walker
Shire of West Arthur	Murray Saunders
Shire of Wickepin	Alistair McDougall
Shire of Williams	Barry Hardie Brenton Hardie

CARRIED 14/0

5.2 Amalgamation of Bush Fire Brigades

Attachment 2 – map showing amalgamated BFB's

Summary

At the FCO meeting held at the Shire of Narrogin on 14 March 2018 it was moved that a Steering Group be organised to look at the feasibility of amalgamating some of the Local Bush Fire Brigades (BFB's).

The Steering Group consisting of Richard Chadwick, Alistair McDougall, Cr Nathan Walker, Brenton Hardie and Azhar Awang met on Monday 19 March 2018 and have proposed the amalgamation of the following Brigades:

- Ockley and Boundain;
- Normans Lake and Highbury East;
- Highbury South and Highbury West;
- Minigin and Central; and
- Narrogin Valley and Narrogin South.

Background

Brigades were asked to provide feedback on this process. As there was no correspondence received it is proposed that we process the amalgamation of the brigades as suggested prior to the start of the 2019/20 fire season.

Consultation

Steering Committee Brigade Captains Dale Stewart – Chief Executive Officer

OFFICERS' RECOMMENDATION AND MEETING RESOLUTION

Moved: N Walker Seconded: B Warren

That it be recommended to Council that the following Bush Fire Brigades be amalgamated prior to the 2019/20 fire season:

- Ockley and Boundain;
- Normans Lake and Highbury East;
- Highbury South and Highbury West;
- Minigin and Central; and
- Narrogin Valley and Narrogin South.

LOST 3/11

6. GENERAL BUSINESS

6.1 Fire Identification Stickers

The Fire Identification Stickers provided to identify vehicles that are able to attend fires are valid for two years and will need to be renewed in September 2019.

7. DATE TIME & VENUE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting is schedule to be held on 13 March 2019.

8. CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business, the Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 5:23 pm.

Bush Fire Brigade	Brigade Role	Given name	Surname	Shire Appointment
Boundain	Captain	Mark	Hoysted	FCO
Highbury East	Captain	Pip	Porter	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Bernie	Rhodes	FCO
Highbury South	Captain	Stuart	Moyses	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Bill	Warren	FCO
	2nd Lieutenant	Murray	Saunders	FCO
Highbury West	Captain	John	Eckersley	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Russell	Ashley	FCO
Minigin	Captain	Barry	Hardie	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Brenton	Hardie	FCO
Narrogin Central	Captain	Richard	Chadwick	CBFCO
	1st Lieutenant	David	Hayes	FCO
Narrogin South	Captain	Vern	Gibson	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Jon	Rick	FCO
Narrogin Valley	Captain	Keiran	Quartermaine	FCO
Nomans Lake	Captain	Nathan	Walker	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Daryl	Kilpatrick	FCO
Ockley	Captain	Tim	Shepherd	FCO
	1st Lieutenant	Alastair	McDougall	DCBFCO

Shire of Narrogin - proposed amalgamations

